NaNoWriMo

November is National Novel Writing Month.  So what you may ask? Well I’ll let the organization example with the following copied from thier site http://nanowrimo.org/about

NaNoWriMo is an annual (November) novel writing project that brings together professional and amateur writers from all over the world.

National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) is a fun, seat-of-your-pants approach to creative writing. 

On November 1, participants begin working towards the goal of writing a 50,000-word novel by 11:59 PM on November 30.

Valuing enthusiasm, determination, and a deadline, NaNoWriMo is for anyone who has ever thought about writing a novel.

****************************************************************

Well I thought about and freaked out about, but I signed up.  I’ve been contemplating writing a novel for quite sometime.  I’m a dreamer who has been creating fictional worlds since childhood.  I thought it was time to write them down.  In March I finally took the plunge and started typing.  I had a story in mind; one that I had recently came up with and expanded into a possible series.  I didn’t get very far and progress was slow.  I had an outline, plot, character list and added to it here and there, but never made it past 1000 words.  Then I saw a Facebook post about NaNoWriMo and looked into it.  Then I read 50,000 words in a month and thought no way. After chatting with a friend I stepped up my game.  I didn’t have many opportunities to write, but I made the sessions count. I was about to do almost 2k in a few hours and realized if I buckled down it was very doable.  I don’t have a laptop, work full time, have depression and anxiety, but there are writers with more obstacles standing in their way.  Besides this would be a great way to motivate myself and lift my mood. I tried to get as much done on my current novel to start fresh for NaNoWriMo, but didn’t finish. I did get to 15k. Never the less, I powered on and at the start of the month started my new project. I’ve only had three writing sessions and they were 2-3 hours tops. My word count is only 5K and I only just mapped out the entire story in my head. Then the voices decided to play tricks on me and last night at 2am another story started to play out. What to do, what to do? I started the new story. This time I’m trying old school and writing by hand. I started the first project that way, but switched to typing early on. This time I might stick to pen and paper. I’ve be writing out random scenes as they come to me for project one and I like it better. Now pops up another problem. How do I track my word count for project two? Don’t forget I still have the first project as well. I think I’ll write simultaneously as the words come to me. As far as keeping track of the word count, well I’ll figure something out. The point is I’m doing something that excites me, kind of. Now if only I can find a cure for insomnia. Until next time.

 

Leave a Reply

